Ionian islands

Ionian islands

The Ionian islands, the group of islands that stretch along the Ionian Sea, that consists of seven main islands and many more smaller in size, is one of the main and oldest tourist attractions of Greece. The Eptanisa (Seven islands) as the Greeks call them are Corfu, Ithaki, Kefalonia, Kythira, Lefkada, Paxi and Zakynthos, although Kythira is located much further away from the main island cluster, at the southeastern tip of the Peloponnese peninsula.

Their main characteristic is their rich vegetation, sustained by the often and abundant rain and the turquoise crystalline waters that hide huge rocks that suddenly drop to the blue Ionian Sea. The Greek Gods definitely were in their best mood when they created these islands.

Recent Posts

Featured Post

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons